Freton or Fridetuna
Robert Fulcher gave lands in this parish to the Priory of Wymondham. In the year
1374, Sir John de Mauteby, son of Sir John, was buried before the altar of St.
Mary, in the parish church of Fritton St. Edmund, where he lived.
In 1413, Robert Mauteby, Esq., enfeoffed Sir Miles Stapleton, Sir Simon
Felbrigge, Sir William Argentien, and others, in this lordship; with divers
manors in Norfolk, to fulfill his will, made in the same year.
This lordship afterwards became vested in the Sydnor family, from whom it passed
to the Aliens, and subsequently became the estate of Richard Fuller: it was
lately the possession of A. G. Johnstone, Esq., who resides here.
Caldecot Hall, to which is annexed a manor, the property of the President and
Scholars of Magdalen College, Oxford, is now occupied as a farm house.
The chancel of this parish church, with its circular termination, and groined
stone roof, is perhaps unique in this county. The east window is lancet shaped,
and enclosed within a semicircular arch, with zigzag moldings.1
The chancel gives a perfect specimen of Saxon architecture, unquestionably of
the highest antiquity. The tower, which is round, low, and unembattled, is
supposed to be of Danish construction.
This parish has been long celebrated for its spacious decoy, a fine fresh water
lake, of more than two miles in length, and in some places of a considerable
breadth: its banks, fringed with woods, vallies, and glades, are highly
picturesque. Captain Manby, the ingenuous inventor of the apparatus for
preserving the lives of shipwrecked seamen, has a neat sporting cottage on the
verge of this decoy.
CHARITIES. The poor's allotment here contains 14A. 2R. 38p.; and the
rents, £12 12s. a year, are laid out in
coals, which are given to the poor.
1. An etching of this church is given in Davy's "Architectural
Antiquities of Suffolk."
Topographical and Genealogical, The County of Suffolk, 1844, Augustine Page